Wellness Philosophy

Every day I see different things on all of my social media about different workout plans, diets, etc. It is no wonder why so many people are confused about which plan to chose or what they should do or start doing. Even with my background with bikini competitions it is hard when you do not have the time to devote 2 hours to the gym every day along with at least an hour of food prepping each week. I have a son that is always on the go and always wants someone to be playing with him because he is very social so to even make time to workout while he plays has also been a challenge.

I know that everyone always says that if you want it bad enough you will make time to do it. This for me is not an issue since when I do finally put my mind to something I usually run with it and am all in. However, after having my son it has been more difficult to get into the right mindset in order to live a healthy life. One thing that really bothers me is the mindset that there is out there for moms that want to be healthy. We either have to be super into fitness by eating clean and working out every day or we have to be part of the self acceptance love your body the way it is group. Neither of these groups is wrong in anyway. It is just hard for me to personally get into the right mindset of being fit and healthy when each thing is opposite extremes.

I have been on both sides of these extremes. Before I got pregnant I was super into staying in the best shape I could possibly be in. I worked out all the time and food prepped. I would feel guilty every time I ate something that I really enjoyed but shouldn’t be eating. In reality, I was really more unhealthy than the average person. Taking your body to that extreme will do that to you. I wound up pushing myself so much that I got extremely sick a week before my first competition of that season. However, I did look amazing and with all of the fish that I was eating my skin looked great too. But I had no energy and was tired and hungry all the time. This was definitely not a way to live.

After I got pregnant and since I have had my son, I have fallen on the other side of this extreme. Eating whatever I want or whatever little man decides that he will eat on any given day. I would workout if I felt like it but nothing consistent so I have yet to see any real progress. In my mind I have been trying to accept that I am a mom now. Which is really not very healthy either. Plus I have a little one that is watching me all the time and I am noticing that he is already picking up some bad habits like always wanting cookies after a meal and wanting to sit around and watch tv all day long. So with all of this I have been trying to come up with some way for me to keep my head in the game without pushing it to the crazy extreme of obsessing over everything that I eat and if I missed a workout.

I have started what I am referring to as the Should I Eating and Workout Plan. It really is super simple. Before doing anything ask yourself “What should I do?” Because in reality with everything that we have read and tried throughout our lives we really do know what we should do. When you take the time to ask yourself that question you give yourself the opportunity to make a decision. What you should strive for is making the right decision at least 80% of the time. I have been doing this with everything from food and fitness related to simple life things. Something as simple as “Should I have a second helping at dinner” to “Should I try to squeeze in a workout and get little man to play for a bit right now”. Even “Should I be spending my time watching TV or should I get something done off my to-do list so I have time to play with Ray once he wakes up.”

I am finding that most of the time I am really just procrastinating on things that I don’t want to do but need to get done. Or I am just eating because I am bored or stressed and I really do not need that kind of stuff. The best part about asking yourself what you should do is that once you make a decision thats it. You cannot feel guilty about it. You chose to either eat the cake or not eat the cake. You made yourself aware of it and you made a decision. And each time you ask yourself this question you have to opportunity to make the best decision possible for yourself in that moment. Not just following what someone else says that you need to do or what they think is the right thing to do. Most of the time many of us do know that eating an apple is better for you than eating a cookie or that spending just 15 minutes moving your body is better than nothing. But the choice is yours. I just really find that being super aware of my choices has made me make better ones throughout the day. Just by simply asking myself What SHOULD I do? 

If you decide to try this out I would love to hear how it is working for you! Leave me a comment below.

Leave a Reply

