Kindness Challenge: Kindness Role Model Reflection

Like a lot of people there are always a few people that I tend to look up to when it comes to the kindness that they display to others. However, there is not just one or two single people that I am able to pin point. There are a bunch of people that have similar yet different traits dealing with kindness and they are able to spread kindness in their own unique ways.

Many of these people show kindness by doing simple things like offering a smile to everyone they pass or holding a door for someone. These little things are definitely able to make a huge difference to some people. Especially those that are just having a bad day. I feel like there are so many people out there that feel like they have to do big, grand gestures in order to appear thoughtful to others. However, a lot of times it is the small things that make the biggest difference. I know that whenever I talk to someone and they see genuinely happy about life that happiness tends to rub off and I in turn feel better about life in general.

I worked with a guy that was able to make anyone that he talked to feel special and important. He was able to be kind even to the most cranky customer and he was someone that everyone loved to work with. Never taking anything too seriously but always willing to lend a hand or just be there and listen when you needed it. That is something that I find refreshing because so many people are too much into themselves and what is happening in their lives. Being around people like this guy made me want to be a better person in general.

I am also realizing how much kids can be great role models for kindness. My little guy is always kind to people. Even when he does not know them he is always ready with a big smile and wave. Not only does he do engage others but he also tries to help out any way he can. Even though he is still little. The simple fact that he has not really been exposed to hatred and unkindness in his little life is something that keeps him so true to the kind person he really is.

I have learned that a role model to me is someone that gives me a certain feeling of hope with life. And sometimes that is not just displayed in people that I know but also in the friendly and kind strangers that I come in contact with throughout my days. I have struggled to come up with specific people that I feel are great role models for kindness because a lot of times it is the little things that I don’t usually remember that keep my life in harmony. I know that in order to keep kindness flowing from one person to another I have to personally stay conscious of being kind no matter what. Especially since I want Ray to keep his innocence and kindness for as long as I can. This can only be done through making sure that I am showing him how to overcome unkind moments and display kindness to others no matter what throughout our own every day lives.

“Unexpected kindness is the most powerful, least costly, and most underrated agent of human change.” ~Bob Kerrey

2 thoughts on “Kindness Challenge: Kindness Role Model Reflection

Leave a Reply

