Favorite Hair Products

Most people don’t know that my hair is super thick until they see it pulled up. When I was working I always wore my hair down because wearing it up always gave me a headache or it would be falling down in the middle of the day because it is so heavy. (I always have to use at least two hair ties just to keep it up). For me to wear it down I also have to straighten it every day. My hair is super wavy naturally. Because of all of this I need to have some great hair products that can handle the heat and really help with any frizz while keeping my hair healthy and not fried. The last time that I got my hair cut was before Thanksgiving so it has been a while! I am getting it done this Thursday so hopefully I can give you an updated look if you follow me on Instagram.

Now, with all of my hair you would think that I go through a ton of shampoo and conditioner. However, I only wash my hair once to twice a week depending on what all I do with it. This is definitely a blessing for a mom of a toddler. When I do wash my hair it takes at least a half hour to blow dry it and even then it is not straight so then I have to straighten it. If I just let it air dry (even when using curling products so I can let my natural waves come through) it gets super frizzy and takes almost a day to dry. So most days I straighten it or just pull it up. Even then I am putting oil on the ends and using a smoothing cream for the front pieces and fly aways. My hair tends to just suck up the oil.

These are some of my favorite products that I use on a consistent/ daily basis:

Tresemme Expert Repair & Protect 7 Shampoo and Breakage Defense Conditioner
I have been using the Tresemme products for a while now and I seem to have some pretty good luck with all of them. For the amount of product that I go through this is a good mid priced shampoo and conditioner. I am always trying to find a shampoo and conditioner that will help to keep me from getting split ends and dryness.

Honest Company Conditioning Detangler 
I am always using different things in order to make my hair more manageable and less frizzy. This product is great for right after the shower when I need to comb through it. Just spray it on your wet hair and comb through. It smells great too!

 

Tresemme Keratin Smooth Flat Iron Smoothing Spray 
If you are anything like me and use a flat iron almost on a daily basis protecting your hair is a must. I like to use a smoothing spray that also helps to protect against damage from the heat. I have used different products in the past and I have also used salon products that did a pretty good job, however, this spray works just as good without the salon price tag.

 

Tresemme Keratin Infussing Smoothing Serum 
Like I said before I put an oil in my hair almost every day. Especially when I straighten it. Most people do not need to use something like this every day. However, for me I put it in my hair when it is damp before I use a blow dryer. I also use it when I first straighten my hair after I have washed it. Then whenever the ends seem dry or frizzy. Only use it on the ends though or you will look like a greasy mess.

 

John Frieda Frizz Ease Touch-up Cream 
This is the best conditioning type cream that I have yet to find. I use it to control all of my fly aways. I am able to smooth out the hair around my face and really make it look sleek and straight.

 

Some other hair products that I love but don’t use very often are:

Jason Normalizing Tea Tree Treatment Shampoo 
I got this shampoo because I was noticing I had a lot of dry skin on my head. Because we live in the midwest the change in temperatures in the spring and in the fall creates a bunch of dry air and with that dry skin. I know that tea tree oil is really good for that. I found this shampoo at TJ Maxx to see if it would help with the dryness.

 

Nexxus Maxximum Extraordinary Hold Finishing Mist 
This is a great finishing hair spry. I even use it when I am curling my hair and do not want it to get all crusty but still hold the curls. It is also perfect for after using a straightener to help and lift your roots a little and keep everything in place.

Coconut Oil 
Any type of coconut oil will work. I got mine in the baking aisle at the grocery store. I only use this about once a month on my ends. Make sure to put it on when you first get in the shower after you get your hair wet. Then I pull my hair up into a bun and let it soak into my hair. After that I wash and condition like normal. Make sure you don’t do what I did the first time and put it on after you wash your hair! It will leave it super greasy and dirty feeling and you will have to wash it right after you get it dry.

What are some products that you guys swear by?

Leave a Reply

