Its Spring Cleaning Time

It is finally that time of year again! When the weather gets nice and you realize that your whole house needs to be buffed and shined back up. I feel like during the winter months I tend to let the little things slid a bit and just make sure to keep the surfaces clean for when company comes over. But spring time is when I get down and dirty and really get this house cleaned back up and looking good. It is the time when I vacuum the corners, clean the windows, and really scrub everything that needs it. We have only live in our house for three years so now and I remember the first year we were hear I did an overall clean. I was nine months pregnant and we had only been living here a month. I orange oiled all of the wood in the house and scrubbed all the floors on a Saturday and little man was born on Monday. Talk about nesting right!

Each year I try to block out some time to do all of this when little man isn’t home so I do not have to worry about him getting into any of the stuff I am using or the chemicals that I set out. Last year I used some of my vacation days but he was still in daycare so I had a couple days to myself to get everything done. Those days I also tried to reorganize closets and drawers and stuff. I do not recommend doing that at all when you are trying to clean. I felt like I was just rushing the cleaning so I could organize. Which isn’t really the best way to do things because a lot can get missed.

This year since I am planning on having my mom watch little man for a day and get all my cleaning done. My house isn’t too big so it should hopefully only take me a day. I am also planning on getting my basement cleaned up since I have converted that into more of a playroom and office for us. We just got rid of an upright piano that was down there so now I have some more space to work with and I want to completely redo that whole thing. But for now I am just going to get the walls wiped down and everything vacuumed. Our laundry room is also down there and that needs to be cleaned back up as well.

For me, I have a lot of cleaning stuff already so I do not have to go out and really buy anything to clean with. Right after college when I was just working a full time job I cleaned a couple of houses on my days off. My mom also cleans houses about four days a week so anything I don’t have I am usually able to borrow from her. Most of the stuff that we use though is easy enough to pick up at any store. We use microfiber towels for dusting and orang oiling furniture and cabinets. For windows, I started using flour sack dish towels after I helped my mom clean a house and that is the only thing she would use. They seem to work a lot better at keep streaks off of the windows.

It is crazy how much stuff we have to clean if you think about it. This is where a really good checklist and things to focus on in each room comes into play. I have made up a simplified checklist that is similar to the one that I use if you would like to give it a try. My personal one is just more specific to each room and I have all the rooms listed out instead of just bedrooms as a whole.

Spring Cleaning Checklist

Some of my cleaning tips and tricks include:
-Spraying things down at the beginning to give the cleaners time to sit so that they actually work is a must! Usually showers and toilets.
-I always start with cleaning the kitchen and the bathrooms. Then move onto the main living areas and the bedrooms. Most of the time the kitchens and the bathrooms tend to take the longest.
-One other thing that I learned when cleaning houses is to move everything off of the countertops and vacuum them down first. That way you don’t have to deal with all sorts of crumbs and dust getting into your rag.
-I also like to keep a laundry basket near me so when I find something that needs to be in a different room I just toss it into the basket. Then when I am in that room I can put it away as I go. It just really helps to cut down on the time of running back and forth to put stuff away.
– Always go from top to bottom in each room so you don’t have to wipe things down twice. The floors should always be last!

 

  1. Hoover Commercial PortaPower Vacuum Great for wood floors, corners, and edges
  2. Microfiber Cloths Use for dusting (Sometimes you can find them at the dollar store)
  3. Flour Sack Towels  The best for washing windows
  4. Honest Company Floor Cleaner This stuff was able to cut through any stickiness & is all natural
  5. Bar Keepers Friend Perfect for sinks and showers
  6. Sprayway Glass Cleaner The only kind of glass cleaner my mom and I will use

Are you ready to start spring cleaning now? Please let me know if you would like to see my personal checklist with each of the rooms listed out.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

